European Union prize for literature awarded

22.11.2010 |

Read the names of this year's winners of the European Union Prize for Literature!

Eleven of Europe's most promising new authors were presented with the European Union Prize for Literature at the award ceremony in the Royal Flemish Theatre in Brussels/ Belgium. The prizes were presented to the winning authors by Commissioner Vassiliou, Ms Fadila Laanan, Minister of Culture, Audiovisual, Health and Equal Opportunities of the French speaking community in Belgium and President of the Cultural Affairs Council and Ms Doris Pack, MEP and Chair of the EP's Committee on Culture and Education.

The winning authors received a € 5.000 prize. Their winning book will be given priority for translation within the EU Culture Programme. In addition, their work will also be promoted at leading international book fairs, including the Frankfurt Book Fair, where the winners were announced on 6 October 2010.

The winning authors 2010 are:
Peter Terrin (Belgium) * Myrto Azina Chronides (Cyprus) * Adda Djørup (Denmark) * Tiit Aleksejev (Estonia) * Riku Korhonen (Finland) * Iris Hanika (Germany) * Jean Back (Luxembourg) * Răzvan Rădulescu (Romania) * Nataša Kramberger (Slovenia) * Raquel Martínez-Gómez (Spain) * Goce Smilevski (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)

The European Union Prize for Literature is organised over a three year cycle, during which one author from each country participating in the EU Culture Programme will be rewarded for their literary début. The prize is organised by the European Commission in association with the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council, and the Federation of European Publishers.

Further news of the EU Commission for Culture is available here.

< Back to: News


"Culture includes not only culture and arts, but also the way of life and system of values. In this sense culture becomes the major power for intellectual renewal and human perfection." (European Council Report on European Cultural Policy)