Skip to the navigation Skip to the content

Prix Ars Electronica 2024

The Prix Ars Electronica 2024 awards the winners of the renowned Ars Electronica media art competition hosted since 1987 with the Golden Nica as trophy and up to 10.000 EUR in prize money.

Submissions are encouraged by Ars Electronica in the categories 'New Animation Art', 'Interactive Art +' and 'U19 – create your world', all centering around the intersection between art, technology and society. After the expert jury announces the winners in May, the prize is bestowed at the Ars Electronica festival from September 4th to 8th in Linz, Austria where the works will be prominently featured.

More specifically, the category 'U19 – create your world' is subdivided into Young Creatives under and Young Professionals over the age of 14. The youths can let their creativity unleash without any sectoral boundaries and depict their project or concept in whatever medium presents their critical thoughts on the world of tomorrow. 

Projects in the New Animation Art category should aready have been realized and documented. They showcase the wide spectrum of computer-animated art and it’s connected disciplines like generative AI or, VR or the Metaverse. 

The 'Interactive Art +' prize demands an artwork of sociopolitical or scientific relevance that engages the audience in innovative ways. The + sign signifies the openness to experiments broadening the understanding of interactive art.  

In each category one winner, two distinctions and up to twelve honorable mentions will be selected and get the opportunity to use the festival not only as a stage for the presentation of their work, but also as a networking event with other excellent media artists. But through the application for this call participants are also registered for several other competitions related to Ars Electronica like the S+T+ARTS Prize or the European Union prize for citizen science, endowed with 60.000 EUR.

Does this competition electrify you? Read more or apply now! 

Deadline: 01 March 2024 

Awardees Natalia Rivera, Jung Hsu and Adetola Eyimofe Jerry-Adesewo with their prize on stage

(c) Tom Mesic